Redundancy

In my quarter life crisis, I have developed a very deep and well rooted hatred for redundancy. Its all around us, killing our time slowly without us realizing it. Being mortals, we don’t really have eternity to kill. Life is too short and too precious for me to let it go without gaining “experiences”.  These experiences very very important, they define a person. Plus they are interesting thus providing a solution to boredom.
Let me put out a few examples of redundancy which I see in my daily life. Now I am listing it out not because I want to fill in a few lines here, but because by keeping this in writing would have a greater influence on me and I will never let myself be exposed to any act of redundancy.
The work that I do involves a lot of things which according to me are not generating any value. By value I mean some visible difference made to me or the world around me(mostly me actually) . Coming to  the time I spend in communicating with fellow human beings, one hell of a time is wasted in phrases like “See, the point that I am trying to make is”, “Do you understand”, “yaar, I think”, “to funda yeh hai” and the list is endless. Considering the fact that these phrases occupy half of my interaction with other people, and the time I spend talking in a day is easily 4 hrs, you can do the rest of the math.
A big redundancy also lies in discussions, I remember only very rare occasions where I have actually gained from a discussion/some analysis.Now by gain I don’t mean any knowledge that will help in my career/GK, etc. I quantify gaining in terms of experience There is redundancy even in my thinking process. I think about the same things/matters repeatedly because I forget the  thorough analysis that I did the last time I thought about the thing. So every time I have to start with square 1 (or do they call it square 0?).
Dejavu has become an extremely detestable phenomenon for me. I shall never let myself experience dejavu while having a discussion/reading a book/watching a movie, anything!! Repetition is the perpetrator of boredom, the biggest  vice of mortality.
I have made this resolution that I will neither do nor subject myself to any act of redundancy. I say this with very strong determination. If some work/someone/something is wasting my time I won’t simply zone out like I used to, I will blatantly ignore/ditch/do something else. Life is too short to be courteous. I will not sit and analyze things/have discussions unless they provide me with some interesting insights. I will write more in order to structure my thinking so as to start thinking from where I left the last time I thought. In  the immense free time that I save from these activities, for the next few months, I will read, write, think, you get the drift!

~ by wtfnessintheair on February 13, 2009.

Leave a comment